Chipping Village Lancashire is situated in the Ribble Valley on the edge of The Trough of Bowland within the area of the Forest of Bowland an area of outstanding natural beauty. A well kept secret to many, This picturesque Lancashire village has won a number of best kept village competitions over the years. The village is known to be at least 1,000 years old and is named in the Domesday book as ‘Chippenden’ the name coming from the medieval ‘Chepyn’ meaning market place. Chipping really thrived during the Industrial Revolution when there were seven country mills located along Chipping Brook.
Chipping has its own local historical society.
Chipping Agricultural Show is a local country show that was first held in 1920. The show celebrates all aspects of farming and rural life with classes for sheep, cattle, light horses, ponies and shire horses plus poultry, pigeon and egg sections. There are also competitions for cheeses, handicrafts, cakes and preserves, a large horticultural section plus children’s, dog and baby sections.
Originally held in 1998 and intended as a one-off fund raising event for a new Village Hall, Chipping Steam Fair has now become a firm fixture in the village calendar. The fair now regularly attracts around 20,000 visitors and upward of 500 exhibitors over the Spring Bank Holiday weekend each May.
Near to the village is a small grass airstrip that is used by winch-launched gliders.
The village has three public houses. The Sun is situated at the corner of Windy Street and Garstang Lane and The Tillotson’s Arms is situated on Talbot Street. The Talbot Arms, also on Talbot Street, is currently closed for refurbishment. The Sun is reputed to be haunted by the ghost of scullery maid Lizzie Dean, who hung herself in the attic of the pub on 5 November 1835. She is buried at the entrance to the churchyard.